East Germany Ice Hockey East Germany Ice Hockey Jersey

Ice Hockey in East Germany

Ice Hockey in East Germany was governed by the Deutscher Eislauf-Verband Der DDR. East Germany ice hockey team created in 1951 and was a member of the International Ice Hockey Federation 1954-1990.   The only time they competed in the Olympics was in Grenoble in 1968. The national team refused to participate in any future Olympic hockey tournaments. The team ceased playing in 1990, just before the German reunification.

Men’s National Team

IIHF Member From 1954-1990
Facebook DDR-Eishockey
Played From 1951-1990
Games Played 646
Wins 306 Losses 286 Ties 54
Longest Winning Streak (23) Nov 20th, 1976-Mar 23rd, 1977
Longest Unbeaten Streak (23) Nov 20th, 1976-Mar 23rd, 1977
Longest Losing Streak (21) Jan 28th, 1951-Dec 25th, 1952
Home Games 213 Away Games 433
Goals For 2698 Goals Against 2858
Most Games Dietmar Peters (323) Most Points Rainer Patschinski (189)
First Game Played January 28th, 1951 – 8-3 loss to Poland
Biggest Win 20-0 over France March 12th, 1980
Biggest Loss 27-3 to Czechoslovakia April 25th, 1951
European Championships:
Bronze: 1966
East Germany vs Others
Games Played 43
Wins 11 Losses 27 Ties 5
Home Games 14 Away Games 29
Goals For 131 Goals Against 223
Click here for East Germany Men All Time Results

GK Rene Bielke – SC Dynamo Berlin (DDR)
GK Tomas Bresagk – SG Dynamo Weisswasser (DDR)
DEF Thorsten Deutscher – SC Dynamo Berlin (DDR)
DEF Rolf Engelmann – SG Dynamo Weisswasser (DDR)
DEF Thomas Graul – SC Dynamo Berlin (DDR)
DEF Tom Gobel – PEV Weisswasser (DDR)
DEF Torsten Kienass – SC Dynamo Berlin (DDR)
DEF Joachim Lempio – SC Dynamo Berlin (DDR)
DEF Dirk Perschau – SC Dynamo Berlin (DDR)
DEF Gerd Vogel – SG Dynamo Weisswasser (DDR)
FW Henry Domke – PEV Weisswasser (DDR)
FW Andreas Gebauer – PEV Weisswasser (DDR)
FW Hubert Hahn – SG Dynamo Weisswasser (DDR)
FW Jorg Handrick-  SG Dynamo Weisswasser (DDR)
FW Ralf Hantschke – East Germany (DDR)
FW Harald Kuhnke – SC Dynamo Berlin (DDR)
FW Frank Liebert – SG Dynamo Weisswasser (DDR)
FW Andreas Ludwig – PEV Weisswasser (DDR)
FW Mario Naster – SC Dynamo Berlin (DDR)
FW Frank Proske – SC Dynamo Berlin (DDR)
FW Detlef Radnet – SC Dynamo Berlin (DDR)
FW Jan Schertz
(1990 World Championship Squad)